II Bienal de la imagen en movimiento ’92. Visionarios españoles

1 december, 1992 - 18 january, 1993 /
Sabatini Building, Floor 4
Iván Zulueta. Arrebato, 1979. Video. Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofía Collection, Madrid
Iván Zulueta. Arrebato, 1979. Video. Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofía Collection, Madrid

With the desire to give continuity to the project initiated at the Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofía two years ago, Bienal de la imagen en movimiento ´92. Visionarios españoles repeats a similar call to the previous exhibition, but with the difference that all the selected, displayed and projected works are creations by Spanish artists. Even though the biennial has been designed as an exhibition, it is complemented by a series of film and video screenings, "which are a logical expansion of the exhibition", as noted by the curators of the exhibition, Carlota Álvarez Basso and Joseba M . Lopezortega.

The exhibition is organised into three distinct groups which all refer to works produced in one of the following four media: film, television, video and synthesis (infographics, images produced by computers). The first group, the broadest, refers to the subtitle of the biennial: "Spanish Visionaries." This is to pay tribute to those producers, filmmakers and artists, precursors to the moving image in the Spanish context or who are removed from conventional practices and who have experimented with the technical and aesthetic possibilities that the specified means can offer; in addition to noting the economic conditions and technical difficulties which in each case affected and continue to affect the artist. This section, which conducts a historical review of the Spanish cinematic image production over the past thirty years, is subdivided into different categories: film (with special reference to Segundo Chomón and José Val del Omar), animated cartoon and experimental cinema (where Francisco Macián and José Antonio Sistiaga stand out), television (with a definite nod to Claudio Guerín, in addition to marking television in "Primitive Television", "Telenostalgia", “Current Television” y “Innovative Programmes”); video (in which, under the motto "Twenty years, twelve authors" he sets out a selection of works that intend to "be a snapshot of the various trends in video art in Spain," according to Miguel Palacio - author of one of the texts in the catalogue, focusing on four key production centres: Madrid, Barcelona, the Basque Country and Galicia) and synthesis (digital art), which collects the pioneering work of artists - Juan Carlos Eguillor or José María Iturralde -who have worked with images produced by computers, also called "infographics", and their current applications to television, advertising and film.

The second and third parts that make up this exhibition are devoted to the selection of five video installations never before seen (by Javier Codesal, Gabriel Corchero, Marcelo Expósito, José Antonio Hergueta and Francisco Ruiz de Infante) and audio-visual creations made in Spain during the last two years, which aims to show the broad and varied spectrum of work being done at this time.

Exhibition´s details

Organized by: 
Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofía
Carlota Álvarez Basso and Joseba M. Lopezortega
Manuel Abad, Pedro Almodóvar, Julián Álvarez, Álvaro del Amo, Antonio Artero, Adolfo Arteta, Juanma Bajo Ulloa, Eugènia Balcells, Remo Balcells, Rafael Ruiz Balerdi, Juan José Bigas Luna, Gabriel Blanco, Iciar Bollaín, Luis Buñuel, Antonio Cano, Emilio Casanova, Mariano Catalán, CNT, Javier Codesal, José Ramón Da Cruz, Manuel Cusso-Ferrer, Juan Carlos Eguillor, Luis Emaldi, Carmelo Espinosa, Jon Estankona, Jacinto Esteva, Fernando Fernán Gómez, Adolfo Garito, Mercedes Gaspar, Isabel Herguera, Joséantonio Hergueta, Antonio Herranz, Alex de la Iglesia, Joaquín Jordà, Luis Lamadrid, Eusebio Marín, Gustavo Martínez Schmidt, Julio Medem, Rosa Méndez, Esther Mera, Fernando Merinero, Antoni Muntadas, Javier Olivares, Manoel Oliveira, Antoni Padrós, Carina Pardevilla, Ignacio Pardo, Vicente Pérez, Diana De Petri, Pedro Pinzolas, Pere Portabella, Matilde Prat, Joan Pueyo, Carles Pujol, Elio Quiroga, Susana Rabanal, Josu Recalde, Marc Rechal, Antón Reixa, Belén Rey, Raúl Rodríguez, Dionisio Romero, Francisco Ruiz de Infante, Manuela Saez, Iñigo Salaberria, Miguel Ángel Sánchez, Miguel Santesmases, Domingo Sarrey, Carlos Saura, Santiago Segura, Carlos Serrano de Osma, Toni Serra, Agueda Simo, José Antonio Sistiaga, Nemesio Sobrevila, Gonzalo Suárez, Juan Gabriel Tarrats, Martín de la Torre, Francesc Torres, Eve Tramullas, Francisco Utray, Javier Vadillo, Xavier Villaverde, José Antonio Vitoria, Pedro Pablo Zancajo, Iván Zulueta View more